Five Reasons Why Facebook Will Never Replace Your Website


 

Facebook logo

Image via Wikipedia

 

Today someone said something which still has me reeling hours later: “Facebook will eventually replace websites.” Was this person the first to ever have said it? Surely not. But it was the first time I’ve ever heard an actual person say it, and I’m telling you, it freaked me out that someone could honestly believe something so crazy to be true. I was taken aback at the time and didn’t respond; now that I’ve had a few hours for it to sink in, let me say here what I should have said then: THAT IS THE WORST IDEA EVER.

Facebook may have 500 million users and be raking in the dollars, but lets be perfectly clear: while Facebook can certainly be useful as an outpost to your company’s website, it could not and should not ever replace it. Thinking Facebook could take the place of a company’s website is like saying your car is so great soon you can just live in it and get rid of your house. You might have a really, really nice car (now, notice I didn’t say RV; that might be do-able) but it’s a car, not a house.

via Five Reasons Why Facebook Will Never Replace Your Website — SocialFish.

